Building a Business Blog Tip #3: Get Organized

Notes, Notes, Notes

What do these all have in common?

  • Post-It notes
  • Scraps of paper
  • Forgotten web pages on the computer
  • Spiral bound notebook

Being a completely unproductive and inefficient way of keeping track of our awesome blog ideas!

And after knowing that I had to be strategic in planning my new business blog, I quickly realized that my spiral bound notebook was not working!

So, I had to …

Get Organized!

It’s so easy, but sometimes that procrastination bug kicks in and we think, “Oh, I’ll just write down this idea [somewhere] and find it later.”

Right?!

Don’t do it!

Tools for Getting Organized

I realized that I just needed to put three simple things in place and I would be much better prepared for building my business.

  1. 3-Ring Binder with dividers and lined paper (for written ideas)
  2. Bookmark folder on my computer (with sub-folders to organize all those fantastic online ideas)
  3. Folder on my hard drive (to save documents and other ideas)

Two other online tools that are extremely helpful and can be accessed anywhere on any device are:

  1. Pinterest (organizing images and online ideas)
  2. Evernote (organizing written ideas as well as things you like, see and hear)

End Result

Now I have a binder organized into five topics:

  • Blog Help
  • Post Ideas
  • Revenue Ideas
  • Blog Design
  • eBook Ideas

And in less than one hour, I had:

  • Cut out pages from my spiral notebook and put them into my binder
  • Created 11 sub-folders for my 92 website links in my main business blog folder
  • Created a folder on my hard drive labeled “New Blog”

Save yourself hours of frustration and repeated work by simply getting organized!

What have you done to get organized for your blog?

Posts in this series:

    1. Building a Business Blog Tip #1: You Don’t Make Money Blogging
    2. Building a Business Blog Tip #2: Be Strategic
    3. Building a Business Blog Tip #3: Get Organized
Subscribe to make sure you don’t miss out on any of my future tips!
(Sign up above on the left in the “Email Subscription” area or click the “RSS Link” if you prefer.)
5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “Building a Business Blog Tip #3: Get Organized

  1. I had to reblog this useful piece of info, hope you don’t mind. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing my post on your blog! And I appreciate you not reblogging the entire post, but only showing an excerpt and directing your readers to my site. Thank you for being considerate! And thanks for reading!

      • ksmm101

        To be honest WordPress showed only half of your post on its own but needless to say the credit would have went to you either way. I was actually looking for the “press this” button but you have taken it off. I suggest you add it along with almost all the other sharing options. You never know how people would like to share your posts. And you are welcome, keep up the good work. 🙂

  2. love the direction you’re taking with all these tips. i am enjoying the read!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

