Stepping Stones

Remember that plan I had to start a new blog focused on educating others in music and to eventually use that as a platform to launch an ebook or two? Well, I’m working on it! It’s been two weeks and I have six blog posts written, but I can’t get it to look right! Ugh! (Who knew that educators had to be writers, graphic designers, and computer geniuses, too?)

When I launched this blog, “Dare to Re-Dream,” I wanted it to be great – but I wasn’t so worried about it being awesome. I figured that at least I was finally trying something new (after being encouraged for over a year to start blogging by my entrepreneurial husband). I used a free domain through WordPress, set up my account, picked a theme, and dove in.

Well, this time it’s been a lot harder. Thankfully, having my personal blog has made the business blog idea easier to get my head around. But I’m still spending hours researching “how-to’s” and pouring over other blogs for tips.

I recently read this quote written by Jeff Olson, author of The Slight Edge:

Show up consistently with a good attitude, being patient and persistent for a long time to create lasting change.

So that’s what I’m doing. I’ve been working daily to write posts and learn as much as I can about making my new blog awesome! I have a great name (get a sneak peek on my Facebook page) and plenty of ideas. They are slowly materializing into great content, but I have to keep reminding myself that I can only do one thing at a time. Although, it’s not unusual for me to have a day like today:

Goal: Write “About” page.

Steps to get there:

  1. Paste tips from Amy’s “how-to” post in my “About” page draft.
  2. Remember I need to finish setting up a FeedBurner account.
  3. Spend two hours figuring it out and getting it running.
  4. Make dinner and clean up dishes.
  5. Spend an hour creating a Facebook page (don’t forget to “Like” me, please).
  6. Start a new post for my personal blog (uh-hmm, that’s where I’m at right now)

Oh, well. I guess I can’t do everything in one day! That “About” page still awaits me in the draft stage and tons of ideas are swirling around in my head. Thankfully, I’ve written most of them down in my business blog notebook (yeah, me!).

My goal is to launch my new blog before I start the Christmas Cantata choir rehearsals on October 23rd. And so I continue to repeat my mantra:

One step at a time!

1 Comment

Filed under Life Journal, Music Education

One response to “Stepping Stones

  1. I know what you mean. I think we all have good intentions of getting what we need done. For some reason there never seems to be enough hours in the day. Thanks for sharing!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

