To Enjoy List

During my morning run in the beautiful sunshine under bright blue skies with brush-stroked clouds, I was thinking of all the things I’m looking forward to this winter and spring. As I mentioned yesterday, we plan to head to the U.S. for a three month summer road trip in July. Before we go, there are things I’d like to accomplish. And there are people I’d like to spend time with. I’m even hoping to blog about it all!
So, here’s a list of 21 things I’d like to spend time, well, enjoying:
  1. Working on Ethan’s baby quilt (and other miscellaneous projects)  on Tuesdays with a friend during our quilting/sewing day
  2. Sailing on the weekends with my hubby and son (we often invite friends, too)
  3. Running 2-3 mornings a week to train for a half marathon in March and possibly a full marathon this summer
  4. Using Baby Sign Language to communicate with Ethan (hoping that he signs back!)
  5. Directing the Easter Cantata for our church (including 8-10 weekly rehearsals)
  6. Creating an enjoyable home environment (cooking, cleaning, laundry … the regular stuff)
  7. Participating in our church’s six-week journey called, “Hearing from God,” including a weekly devotional and one meal fast (part of the “Touch San Carlos” ministry expansion campaign)
  8. Walking most afternoons with baby in a carrier and dog in tow to get some Vitamin D (which, apparently, you don’t actually get from the sun)
  9. Creating a shutterfly photobook or two to catch up to this year (my version of a photo album)
  10. Blogging at least once a week
  11. Finishing Ted Dekker’s Circle Series by reading “Green” (already on p. 170 out of 392 pages – I read “Black”, “Red” and “White” a few years ago and didn’t know he published a fourth book until eyeing it on a friend’s bookshelf last October! Just looked it up … originally was only a trilogy – behold, Book Zero?!)
  12. Leading worship at church during two weekends (to give our regular worship leaders a break)
  13. Compiling some original recipes on my blog
  14. Making all of Ethan’s baby food, including as much raw food as possible (if you think babies can best digest cooked foods, the raw food world offers another viewpoint)
  15. Completing six months of solely breastfeeding my currently almost 5-month-old baby before starting him on solids (Based on lots of research, it’s supposed to be much better for his health. I sure hope it’s true, because this has been a huge commitment. Not to mention that he doesn’t take a bottle, so it’s just me and him!)
  16. Cooking/making almost all our meals to save money and eat healthier (we have committed to not eat desserts, too – though we sneak in an occasional “undessert” like a banana with PB, shredded coconut, chocolate chips, and agave)
  17. Riding my awesome road bike (a gift from hubby!) once a week after a 10-month hiatus due to being pregnant and giving birth
  18. Investing in my son’s life daily through playtime, prayertime, cuddles, and clean diapers (we use cloth, too!)
  19. Investing in my marriage daily through playtime, prayertime, cuddles, and clean clothes (we’ve grown out of our diapers, thankfully!)
  20. Investing in my friendships through walks, phone calls, emails, facebook, lunch dates, and smiles
  21. Sharing God’s love with my neighbors by living a godly life and looking for opportunities to minister to other
1 Comment

Filed under Life Journal, Living in Mexico, Sailing, Travel

One response to “To Enjoy List

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of things you’re planning on ‘enjoying’. Wish you success in this, but also to remember to take some time out every now and then. 😉

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

