Sunday Afternoon Baking – Almond Flour Banana Bread

Almond Flour Banana Bread

I’m standing in my kitchen, smelling the amazing sweet aroma of coconut oil and mashed bananas coming from the bowl that I just used to mix banana bread batter in. You know those yucky brown bananas that need to be given a second life, since eating them raw sure ain’t cuttin’ it?! Well, I went on the hunt for a healthy banana bread recipe. Apparently, most recipes call for at least a cup of sugar per loaf. Really, do we need to eat that much sugar, along with all the natural sugar that comes from really ripe bananas?! After some serious online surfing, I found an Almond Flour Banana Bread recipe from the website:  http://www.foodrenegade.com. For one loaf of bread, it only called for 1/8 c. honey (I used agave instead). Fantastic!

So, being the cook/baker that is never satisfied with a recipe as is, I changed it to the following. (I also cut the recipe in half, wanting to only make one loaf).

Making banana bread

1  1/2 c. almond flour (I made my own by grinding up almonds in a food processor)

1 c. oat flour (again, made my own by grinding up oats)

1/2 c. coconut flour (yes, again … made my own by grinding up shredded coconut)

Yummy ingredients

1/2 c. walnuts, chopped

1/2 t. salt

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. baking powder

1 t. pumpkin pie spice

1/8 c. agave nectar

1/4 c. coconut oil

3 eggs

1/2 Tbs. vanilla

1  1/4 c. ripe bananas, mashed

Ready to bake

Directions:

Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl, the wet ingredients in another bowl. Then mix them all together. Pour into a loaf pan and bake at 350 F for 40 minutes. (I sprinkled some oats on top for that “good-for-you” look.)

So easy!

I literally just took the picture below and I’m anxious to cut the bread and take a bite! However, I just noticed these instructions on the website: “Remove cooking tins from oven, and let cool completely before removing from cooking tins and serving up this delicious almond flour banana bread to your family and friends. Freeze whatever you don’t think you’ll eat within a couple of days!”

Patience is a virtue …

OK, I took the bread out and carefully removed it from the loaf pan. A little piece broke off from the bottom … so I had to eat it, right?! I’m putting the bread back in the pan and into the oven for another 5 minutes to cook. I think it might be a little too moist still.

Wait for it, wait for it … beep!

Sad to say, I forgot the above instructions and popped the bread out of the pan onto my cutting board. It fell apart gracefully, so here it is … smelling heavenly!

Smells delicious!

Tastes great, but definitely not cooked, so back it goes. (I’m thinking I should have cooked it for 50-55 minutes originally. Also, I have a Celsius oven, and I baked it at about 210 C – maybe that was too low.) After another 12 minutes, I took the bread out, let it cool, then turned it out onto the cutting board.

Of course, M. came home at that moment and tasted my creation. His response?

Loved it!

Two thumbs up and I should even make it again!

So, it’s official … Almond Flour Banana Bread is super yummy and healthy. It’s gluten free, too! Hope you enjoy making some for your family!

Here’s another yummy recipe for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts & Kitchen, Life Journal

4 responses to “Sunday Afternoon Baking – Almond Flour Banana Bread

  1. I can’t leave recipes alone either. 😉 And I also agree that recipes have waaaay too much sugar in them. I tend to put considerably less sugar in that it says, or try to substitute with brown sugar. Or better yet, try and find healthier ones without sugar. Not used agave nectar before, though seen it in the shops – what’s that like? As for the coconut oil – what else do you use that in/for?

    • Agave is great! You just use it in place of honey in the same amount (good for vegans and raw fooders), use it in hot or cold drinks in place of sugar … that kind of thing. I use it in my salad dressings as well. It mixes up much better than honey or sugar! As for coconut oil, you can use it to cook with or in place of oil in recipes. I don’t use it too much because it is pricey, but it certainly adds a lovely flavour!

  2. katie

    I love your modifications to this recipe. I’m eating raw right now, but definitely want to make this sometime in the future!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

