Friends in fun places

Who would expect to meet another pregnant woman having her first baby, about my same age, living in San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico, with her American husband? And the bonus … we both like to work out!

B. and I at my baby shower

Well, that’s up for debate. Would you consider my typical week (consisting of the following) really working out?

  • 1 weight training day (are 5 and 8 lb. weights acceptable?)
  • 1 walk (30 min. if my hubby goes with me for encouragement)
  • 1-2 days swimming ( a few real laps and lots of bobbing around)
  • 1 day of yoga (when I’m really feeling inspired)

I was staying quite active before we took our road trip and even ran a half marathon with a friend here back in February (at 12 1/2 weeks pregnant!). Compared to last summer when I averaged 2 hours a day for 6 days each week to train for a triathlon, I feel completely unmotivated to get fit these days.

Thankfully, I met B. back in May. We’ve become friends and workout partners. And even better, she’s due three weeks after me, so we’ve been able to talk about all things pregnancy related! Here we are at my baby shower (26 1/2 weeks along).

M. and I took B. and her husband sailing a few weeks ago. We had a great afternoon hanging out on the boat, having a picnic lunch and swimming in Martini Cove.

B. and her husband

M. and I in Martini Cove

Well, I still haven’t packed my bag for the hospital. I think I’m trying to put off starting labor until my translator/friend returns from traveling. She gets back on August 10th, only six days before my due date. If I pack my bag, will the baby think it’s OK to pop out into this world? Let’s hope not!

Oh yeah, we also still need to figure out how to use the car seat!

2 Comments

Filed under Life Journal, Living in Mexico, Pregnant in Mexico, Sailing

2 responses to “Friends in fun places

  1. Looks like you are having a blast! I can’t wait to join you in your lifestyle… only a few short months before I “check out” as well!

    Looking forward to it… you will have to sail down and visit us sometime!

    Take care, Matt

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

