Shaping up

I didn’t think I had much to say, but after writing five blog entries and rereading them while brainstorming, I’ve come up with 20 topics to write about (wait, I just added three more)!

I suppose that means I:

a) am very thoughtful and intelligent

b) think my life is interesting to others

c) am a good writer

d) will write just because I can.

So, if I keep writing, at least option ‘d’ is correct, and if you keep reading, option ‘b’ is correct! As for ‘a’ and ‘c’, that is at the mercy of your discretion.

I’m looking at my page full of bubbles that contain ideas, and lines connecting all those bubbles together. It’s amazing how all of our life experiences form and shape us … hmmm, I think I’ll dive into the topic of shaping up!

I can finally call myself a runner after five years of getting into personal fitness (I used to think of myself as a jogger, watching the ‘real runners’ run past me in their cool Nike outfits at 7-minute per mile while I huffed along at 12’s). I’m also a cyclist, swimmer, triathlete, weight lifter, pilates and yoga doer, hiker, mountain biker, kayaker, and lover of the outdoors. I’m certainly not as hard-core as the conquerers of the 14ers, but I like to think of myself as having moderate abilities in the fitness world. I certainly have many other interests too, but those will have to wait for other blogs.

Ironically, if you knew me in high school, you would have known this Clara:

musician, math whiz, straight-A student, horse rider, poet (in secret), clumsy in sports, and unassertive in general, who looked like this as a mid 20’s gal …

… then lost 18 lbs. by changing to a (mostly) raw food diet and jogging more, got a little too thin and looked like this (can’t really tell in this photo with my winter clothes on, but trust me) …

… then started lifting weights with my awesome friend, the redhead, and running more, and now look like this (M. and I at the 1st annual San Carlos triathlon) …

Well, actually, I look like this right now …

So, I’d like to tell you about all the experiences and choices I made that led to my personal transformation, but that would take hours and way too many words. I can tell you that it’s been an amazing journey!

I used to think high school was great (and it was!) – great friends, living in Papua New Guinea as a missionary kid, traveling, Friday nights at Teen Centre. Then along came my 20’s … college in southern California, freedom and independence, dating, getting married. A lot of growth took place over the last 10 years. Now I’m in my 30’s … remarried, expecting my first child, living in beautiful San Carlos looking out my dining room window at the beach, learning to sail and having new adventures with my husband.

It seems to me that life just keeps getting better!

People may make plans in their minds, but the LORD decides what they will do.

Proverbs 16:9

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Journal, Personal Transformation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

